how i start a handbag

One of the reasons I love sewing is the process. You have a collection of colors and pattern and by cutting and sewing them together you have the ability to create a visual experience. It is like have a blank canvas and filling it up with imagery that inspires you. I pick and choose elements, having them match or contrast the same way I do with my paintings. Remember the point of tension between colors is just as important at having some match. I love the immediate play with color and pattern fabric offers. They are far more tangible then paint you can see immediately how different patterns will react with each other. With paint it is far more intuitive.  Below is a picture of how I start to plan a handbag, and check out the rest of my handbags to see how I finish them.

img_0612

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

